Hello, Sign In!

Subtotal: $0.00
No products in the cart.

This item is from Phil Tuckett’s personal collection.  It took several decades within his career to amass these rare collectibles at events. The highlight is that it includes autographs of the most prominent entertainers, historical figures, and sports players Tuckett met along the way.

Presented is an actual game (Taglibue) football that was presented to Phil Tuckett for his work in NFL Films. The official NFL football was hand-painted on one of the panels with the congratulatory, “1979 Shot of the Year”. Although the paint shows some crackling, it is still wonderfully displayable and a nice piece of Tuckett’s NFL Films career. That season the “Shot of the Year” captured by Tuckett was Lynn Swann’s touchdown catch (from Terry Bradshaw) from Super Bowl XIII. The ball was given to Tuckett at the Super Bowl (1979) as part of the yearly NFL awards.

Super Bowl XIII was an American football game between the American Football Conference (AFC) champion Pittsburgh Steelers and the National Football Conference (NFC) champion Dallas Cowboys to decide the National Football League (NFL) champion for the 1978 season. The Steelers defeated the Cowboys by the score of 35–31. The game was played on January 21, 1979, at the Miami Orange Bowl, the fifth and last time that the Super Bowl was played in that stadium.

The “Shot of the Year” was from the 4th quarter of the game from when Terry Bradshaw fired an eighteen-yard touchdown pass to Lynn Swann, who made a great catch. The Steelers had two touchdowns in a matter of seventeen seconds, and their lead swelled to 35-17.

Phil Tuckett suited up for a single game for the San Diego Chargers in 1968, and his time as a professional football player consisted of a year-and-a-half spent mostly on the Chargers practice squad. One might surmise that Tuckett’s contribution to professional football was minimal, and they would be correct, until taking into consideration that after retiring as a player Tuckett spent the next 38 years working for NFL films. Tuckett won 30 individual Emmy Awards in 30 years while with NFL films documenting the NFL. Of particular note, Tuckett worked directly with Ed Sabol, the man who started and was a huge part of  NFL Films. NFL Films won its first Emmy in 1978 for “Road to the Super Bowl.” NFL Films won a total of 52 Emmy Awards during Sabol’s tenure from 1964-1995.

1979 Shot of the Year Presentation NFL Football Phil Tuckett


Weight 3 lbs


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “1979 Shot of the Year Presentation Football Phil Tuckett”
Skip to content